Get ::HER:: to say {YES!}

Yes, brides, I’m talking to you . . . and I’m talking about your bridesmaids!

Before Kyle and I even started dating, I had spent a lot of time thinking about my future wedding party . . . who I should ask, who would be left out, the style of dress for them to wear.  However, while these are all important issues, I never really thought about how to ask them.

I’ve never been a bridesmaid, but I know that it’s not an {easy-as-pie} job.  I recently stumbled upon Bridesmaid 101 which boasts a list of what it means to hold the honor {physically, mentally and monetarily} and whew!

So brides, because your BM’s are going to be your crutches throughout the planning process, you should take care of them and let them know how much they mean to you . . . starting with day one.

Personally, I would suggest alternatives to picking up the phone and asking her – – but again, I do things a little differently. Wedaholic, an online wedding planning site, hosts a list of “Unique Ideas For Asking Friends To Be A Bridesmaid” that are {creative} and .::sentimental::. at the same time.

If you’re not so much the crafty type, try this stylish online invitation/announcement site called Pingg  {a chic alternative to the traditional e-vite}. Here are a couple fun designs I found that remind me of my bridesmaids {figure out which ones you are BM’s :)}.

 Pingg -Gretchen   Pingg - Ashley    Pingg - Lexie    Pingg - Jamie    Pingg - Tessa   Pingg - Mckenzie

However, when it came to actually asking them myself, I went about it a little differently.  I used simple materials (cardboard, glue, pictures, stickers, wrapping paper, raffia, markers and colored card stock), did some cutting and gluing and created these little numbers.

Front of BM invite

{I got this little “poem” idea somewhere online –I’m sorry I can’t remember where – and tweaked it a bit to fit my style/wedding}

  

Me and Ashley BM     Me and T BM

{this is one of my BM’s, Ashley, from back in the day and my sister and MOH on the right}

 After making these, I purchased some colored tissue paper and plain white “gift” bags from the craft store and decorated them with each girls name on it.

G and L bags

{Gretchen and Lexie, my absolutely adorable sisters-in-law-to-be!}

I presented these to my friends in more intimate moments when I had either one or two of them together and could talk to them about the wedding, reminisce or just catch up. I really liked the fact that these were pieces the girls could hang up or put in a memory box and always have to remember.  Needless to say I had a lot of fun making them, watching their faces when they opened them and just getting some alone time with my new BM’s!

I love all you girls {Mckenzie, Jamie, Ashley, Tessa, Gretchen & Lexie}, thank you for accepting my invitation, I can’t tell you all how much it means to have you standing up there with me on my wedding day! J

::Remember:: This is just what I prefer, to each her own on how she wants to ask her bridesmaids!  As long as you make it special to you and her, you can’t go wrong.

Have you already asked your bridesmaids to be in your wedding party (or already had your wedding)? Did you do something special for them? If so, I’d love to hear what you did!

X.O.X.O

signature

2 Comments

Filed under Bridesmaids

2 responses to “Get ::HER:: to say {YES!}

  1. McKenzie

    You’re so so so welcome! Thanks for asking me! can’t wait til it get’s closer!

  2. Tessa (sister)

    Love your website! Thank you for the honor of being a part of your wedding! I love you 🙂

Leave a Reply

