Movie Review #3

#3 – Father of the Bride (1950 vs. 1991)

 Father of the Bride 1950   

 vs.  

Father of the Bride 1991

{i fancy the classics}

ATTENTION: Mom and dad before you read any further I need to distract you with this real quick:

.::I LOVE YOU BOTH::.

Ok so…

In this little film venture of mine I rediscovered movie tag lines and how much fun they are . . . in fact they are quickly becoming my favorite part of the project! For both versions of this film, I found three tag lines that just {tickled} me!

“Love is wonderful. Until it happens to your daughter.”

“The Bride gets the THRILLS! Father gets the BILLS!”

“Here comes the bride, there goes dad’s wallet!”

Cute, right? hehe

{I’m sorry dad, I’m sure you have a different take on these tag lines – mom too}

Last night was the first time I’d seen the original Father of the Bride and I loved it (I know I say I love them all, but I really do!)  There is something so timeless and elegant about old movies that just captivates me.  Spencer Tracy did a wonderful job as the father of the bride, Stanley Banks, who ends up getting caught in the whirlwind of his daughter’s wedding day.  Afraid of losing his little girl to another man, Stanley doesn’t seem so supportive of the nuptials until, he too, is swept off his feet by the charming Buckley. 

It’s funny to see Stanley and his wife struggle with figuring out the technicalities of the wedding back in the ‘50s when the wedding industry isn’t anything like it is today (whom to invite, whom not to invite, what’s the budget, do we need a wedding planner, etc.) . . . I really feel like this movie was ahead of its time as the problems they faced are ones many couples {us} are looking at right now.  With a penny pinching mindset at first, the Banks ended up with a 250-person guest list! That’s even large by today’s standards! This is a small detail that eluded me in the 1991 Steve Martin version, which 250 people for a wealthy family’s wedding didn’t seem as far-out-there to me. 

While Stanley (Spencer Tracy) and George (Steve Martin) definitely reflect one another in their gruff yet charming ways, its Tracy’s version of the stubborn father who struggles with letting his little girl grow up that I prefer.

Oh, there is a scene in the 1991 version though, where George makes the sweetest comment to Annie, it has a very genuine warm and fatherly feel to it *sigh* 

Annie: What? What’s that face?
George: It’s nothing.
Annie: Oh, is this going to cost you more money?
George: No. It’s just… I know I’ll remember this moment, for the rest of my life.

🙂

Lesson Learned: Let dad in on the thrills and help out with the bills {when you can – if not use your resources wisely ;)} and remember to appreciate him for every last bit of it!

Best for: The bride and grooms whose parents are willing to chip in {not only} their wallet, but their attention, care and effort to make this day special to you and your significant other. It’s just a small sneak peek into the pressure of the party and the anxiety of letting go {just a little} your folks may be going through.

 X.O.X.O

signature

Leave a comment

Filed under Wedding Movies

Leave a Reply

