Victory #12: The Bridesmaid’s Dresses

a {stressful} victory – sorry ladies
 
 
 The bridesmaid dresses have been ordered! Actually, they were ordered back in January but I’ve put this post off this long because, well, I hated the process – to say the least.  I was so sure I had hit the style jackpot by discovering the whole mismatch, cohesive look with the BM’s outfit idea {see below}:
 
 
 
I still love the look . Big fan. Of the idea.  The process, I discovered = not as much fun. I’m just going to break down my whole reasoning here: the ladies pick the look that THEY are most comfortable in, think is the most flattering to their body type and in turn, feel and look amazing on my big day.  Easy enough, and hopefully, they love it so much they wear it again and reduce the chance of it just chilling in their closet for the next few years {I know, every bride tries to pass that one off}.
 
Now, let me get into the dress adventures that took over my winter . . . holy nightmare.
 
I still maintain, the different dress idea is complimentary and quite fantastic. I also thought my choice to let them choose was pretty cool {what bride doesn’t think their ideas are the best anway}.   Blah, blah, blah – you get the point of why I decided to ride this train.
 
Anyway, because my color was aqua and because aqua can really mean anything from baby blue to turquoise (which are actually really different), I picked the designer whose color was exactly what I was looking for, had good pricing and plenty of styles to choose from, then let the girls choose from there.  
 
I came up with a few pages of options, printed them out and handed them over.  A few decided to check out the designer themselves or didn’t find what they were looking for, or since I have BM’s in different cities, wanted to try on the ones they had seen online . . . which most weren’t carried in the stores {go figure}.  The indecisiveness in the “choosing” really began to freak me out a little. I’m sure I was already on edge more than I should’ve been, but it still happened.
 
Not all dresses came in the aqua direction I needed them to go. Hardly any were available in stores. And some had no clue what style was best . . . and since they weren’t in stores to try on, well . . . that’s where the stress {the “this isn’t fun anymore” stress} kicked in. I have six BM’s, that’s a lot to keep track of. Too many people to stress for. Some choose easily, some took forever. Some were sick of trying on dresses and STILL not having a clue what to do. It’s hard to force them to do something they’re sick of. It’s not fun either.
 
Fast forward to January and all six had their dresses picked out.  I hate to admit but a few “just had to pick” one, no more deciding and hee-hawing, we had to get these puppies ordered. I know they didn’t like my nagging and persistence – I wouldn’t either. But, we all got through it.
 
I really, truly thought this process would be easier; I just wanted them to feel beautiful on the day of the wedding. When the bride chooses the dress SHE wants, it takes all the guess work out of the equation and you don’t have time to think.  This whole wedding process has been about making decisions and it does get tiring, sometimes I wish someone would just tell me what to do.  It’d be a lot less stress on my mind.  I’m sure it would’ve been a lot less on theirs too.
 
 But then again, I don’t ever really do things the easy way. 
 
And my ladies will gorgeous when the day comes no matter what.
 
Oh yeah, and order them as early as you can – I ordered ours in January . . . they’ll be here mid-May.
 
 
 
Leave a comment

Filed under Attire, Bridesmaids, Victories

Leave a Reply

