my {silver} shower and the registry check-in

To be honest, I was nervous about my silver shower.  I was unsure about being the center of attention in a group of women I had only met once or twice in my life.  Also, to have these ladies put so much effort into something for me made me a bit uneasy.  You see I call my Seattle shower my silver shower (new friends), and while this wonderful group of women – the Ballard moms they call themselves – had played such a huge role in my to-be family’s life, they were still new to me. After the shower, though, I felt so differently.

Sue, Karri and my MIL Paula put this whole thing together without asking anything from me other than my preferences and a guest list.  In fact, the first time I saw Sue for the shin dig I gave her a hug. I don’t know why I did, it just felt natural for all she was doing for me. Walking in, I really wasn’t expecting a whole lot either.  I thought there would be a few gifts and recipes (the theme for the night was “kitchen”) and friendly chatter.  Nope.

There were a ton of gifts. A fantastically planned and yummy meal. Chi-chi’s (as Karri called the alcohol version of the Pina Colada). Wine. And more wine.

*Sidenote: I did a horrible  job photographing the details of the night. No pictures of the food. No pictures of the gifts. One picture of the group and a few of me unwrapping the gifts. My video camera never left my purse the entire night, and it doesn’t do much good in there. For Sue having called me the “family historian” (a term I smiled proudly at), I did not live up to it that night. I am now kicking myself for being so lazy.

Anyway, so how did the shower go? Amazing.

I learned I was related to a close family friend of one of the women. I learned what another wore the day of her wedding shower.  And I learned the delicious dumpling recipe of Granny Lovana. Pure bliss.

My favorite part? Almost all of the words these women wrote in their cards to me, expressed the same thing – “welcome to our Ballard family.” Family – Seattle had never felt like home so much. 

 
Now – in the wedding planning world – back to business.
 
Shower guests rely on your registry for gift ideas. Some get the ideas and buy elsewhere, which is perfectly fine, but  can mess up your registry a bit. By doing a registry check-in when the gifts start coming, you can ensure that you are still getting what you need and are cutting down on the potential of having to return too many items.
 
Here, a few tips from Project Wedding:

When You Have Received a Favorite

Typically, most brides will receive a set that they instantly fall in love with – or they will receive a set that they fell in love with at the store and were really hoping for. If this happens, you may want to do a registry check in and look for other items that match the set. For instance, you may want a particular set of placemats and napkin rings that go very well with the china you have received. Or, you would love to have the bathroom rugs that match the towels you’ve gotten.

Just slip into your registry account and add those items to it. Also, this is a great time to remove items you’re getting too much of.

Receiving Too Much of One Thing

At some point, pretty much every bride discovers that she’s gotten too much stemware or way too many towels. While you would never mention this to your friends, family and guests – most typically include return information just incase. When you discover that you are getting too much of one thing, you need to remove that item from your registry list to ensure that those still checking the registry don’t see it. A registry check in from time to time will help you learn what items are being purchased and what you may need to remove.

Broken and Unwanted Items

It happens to most brides and it’s likely to happen to you as well – you’ve received something you didn’t really want or it was broken in the box. Since most stores provide bridal receipts for return purposes, it will probably be quite easy to return or exchange your broken and unwanted items. It may be a good idea, however, to wait until the ceremony is over if possible so you don’t exchange it for something another person has already purchased you.

By performing a wedding registry check in, you can manage the items you’re receiving and ensure that you get exactly the right amount of everything – and just what you wanted.

Make new friends,

Leave a comment

Filed under bridal shower, registry

Leave a Reply

