*childish things

Like math + muscle mass – or as I’ve to come to find recently, my athletic ability – if you don’t use it, you lose it.  Creativity {aka blogging}  is no different. The thoughts just don’t surface as easily as they were a few months ago.  And like the dude behind you at the gym sucking wind b/c he let himself get out of shape, I’m vowing to not let that happen again, no matter the struggle. Not worth it.

Anyway – back to the post *childish things.



To me, weddings are a family thing. You marry your love’s family and vice versa. Yes, the day is about the two of you, but you are becoming a part of him, and he a part of you. Hence the terms my mother-in-law, my sister-in-law, etc. It’s not left at just his mom or his sister.  It’s taking ownership and it’s something I 100% believe in.

Anyway – that’s getting a little off the point. My wedding, I wanted all my family there. The people I love, I want them to have who they love there as well (within a certain degree of acceptability, of course) – that means their children. I don’t really believe in weddings without children. While some prefer to leave the wee ones at home, I think that should be their choice. If they can enjoy the evening playing host to a two year old, I say let them. However, I don’t want the two year old screaming and kicking because they’re so bored that the parents – and our dear friends – would need to leave the party early.  That doesn’t make for a good time or a memorable one at that.  A screaming kid does little to impress other guests too.

So, how do we find that happy medium? Entertainment for the kiddos.

It doesn’t have to be a lot, and it doesn’t have to be expensive. Hell, kids can find enjoyment in an empty cardboard box when given the chance. I know I did.

I don’t have pictures of the kid’s table I pulled together for our wedding just yet so in the meantime, flair:



*Hint: Save a buck and check Walmart for some bargain buys.

Now, excuse me while go wipe the sweat from my brow,

1 Comment

Filed under Guests, Kids

One response to “*childish things

  1. Beautiful!
    I follow you from Italy and I like your blog very much…great work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

